Sea Dreams – CD Release

On July 17, 2020, Luminous Voices (Calgary) released Sea Dreams – their third full-length album under the artistic direction of Timothy Shantz. Recorded at the Bell Concert Hall at Mount Royal University, Sea Dreams was composed by Peter-Anthony Togni and features guest artists: Jeff Reilly, bass clarinet/ Katie Partridge, soprano / Oliver Munar, tenor / Sarah Hahn-Scinocco & Sarah MacDonald, flute.

Sea Dreams reflects the relationship between the ocean and the sea as a life metaphor, with its implicit suggestion of journeying, inward emotions and ever uncertainties. A continuation of Togni’s recent works, in which choral writing is blended seamlessly with unusual accompanying instrumental support. The framing movements of the work draw on texts from T.S. Elliot’s Four Quartets, with the middle movement employing the words of the Marian hymn “Alma Redemptoris Mater”.

The album consists entirely of compositions by Peter-Anthony including these pieces, and is available through Leaf Music on your favourite streaming service.

  • Totus Tuus
  • Requiem et Lux
  • Sea Dreams
  • Earth Voices
  • Da Pacem Domine
  • Of the Father’s Love Begotten
  • Psaume 98
  • Responsio Introit
  • Silentio
Luminous Voices and Peter-Anthony Togni – Short Documentary
Tim Shantz interviews Peter-Anthony about his composition inspiration, his relationship with Luminous Voices, and his role in the recording process of ‘Sea Dreams’ by Peter-Anthony Togni, the title track of the recording released on July 17, 2020
Tim Shantz interviewed on Morning Light – Classic 107 in Winnipeg
It\'s only fair to share...Email this to someone
Share on Facebook
0Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Share on Tumblr